Today On The Rachel Maddow and Ron Reagan Shows

Rachel and Ron are off on the Air America Cruise, and I’m thrilled to have the honor of filling in for them for the next few days.

By way of introduction, my name is Nicole Sandler, and I’m broadcasting this week from Miami, FL. I’ve actually been in radio for close to 30 years, but most of those years were spent playing music. Listeners in Los Angeles might remember me from my days with Mark & Brian at KLOS, or from the “Triple A” stations KSCA and Channel 103.1.

After losing a couple of jobs due to stations being sold and changing formats, I moved around the country a bit, and wound up back in South Florida, where I grew up, for family reasons. I started a video production company, but spent much of my time listening to the Air America affiliate down here, and soon contacted them for employment.

To make a long story short, I wound up hosting mornings on 940 WINZ until, along with much of the radio industry, I was downsized. I now podcast and blog daily at www.RadioOrNot.com, and this week am honored to fill in for Rachel and Ron Reagan while they’re cruising.

Tonight, we’ll deal with the passage of constitutional amendments in California, Florida and Arizona that outlaw gay marriage… and more. We’ll look at the effect of the legislation, how this happened in a supposed enlightened time in American history, and what we can do to counter it.

I’ll be joined by Melissa Etheridge, activist/artist Charles Merrill, TV’s Judge David Young, adoption professional and gay foster parent Robert Lamarche, and you on the phones at 866-303-2270.

You can always reach me at www.radioornot.com, or nicole@nicolesandler.com.

Looking forward to talking with you tonight! And stick around for the third hour for The Ron Reagan Show!

Leave a Reply

